A short time ago I announced my ambition to start a new feature on the blog, a ‘Decade by Decade’ project which I hope will combine my own writing with contributions from readers in order to create an archive of material relating to each decade in football from the 1930s onwards.

My intention is for each month to feature a different decade (January the 1930s, February the 1940s and so on), and for there to be two or three articles a week focussing on the footballing themes of the time, hopefully tying in some historical and cultural references as we go. So, if you have a specific interest in a particular era and could provide a well-written, informative and esoteric piece, then I’d love to hear from you. Any pitches for articles should be sent to the e-mail address in the ‘Contact’ box at the bottom of the page.

With your help I hope that the feature can become an engaging and informative source of high-quality work, and a fascinating overview of the history and development of the game throughout the world over the last eighty years.

Thanks,

Chris (Editor)